The Executives' Club Of Chicago

CIO of the Year Award

Since 1995, The Executives’ Club of Chicago, together with The Association of Information Technology Professionals and the Society of Information Management Chicago, has recognized technology leaders with the CIO of the Year Award. Criteria for selection includes leadership in driving business value and technological innovation, business partnerships, and creating best-in-class workplaces for IT professionals.

Nominations for the 2020 CIO of the Year Award are now closed. To register for the annual Awards Gala on October 15th, click here.

Heather Nelson
Senior Vice President and Chief Information Officer
Information Technology division at UChicago Medicine

Former Recipients

    • 2019: Danielle DuMerer, CIO and Commissioner, City of Chicago's Department of Innovation and Technology
    • 2018: Ophir Trigalo, CIO and Vice Provost, Illinois Institute of Technology
    • 2017: Glenn Schneider, CIO, Discover Financial
    • 2016: Erik Yablonka, University of Chicago Medicine
    • 2015: Sonny Garg, Exelon
    • 2014: Yvonne Scott, Crowe Horwath
    • 2014: Brian Hedberg, HCSC
    • 2013: Sanjib Sahoo, optionMONSTER
    • 2012: Stewart H. McCutcheon, Ecolabs/Nalco Company
    • 2011: Susan Malisch, Loyola University Chicago
    • 2010: John M. Hinshaw, The Boeing Company
    • 2009: Timothy R. Zoph, Northwestern Memorial Hospital
    • 2008: Patricia Morrison, Motorola
    • 2007: Cathie Brune, Allstate Insurance
    • 2006: John Golden, CNA Financial
    • 2005: Patrick Moroney, Health Care Services Corp. (BCBS)
    • 2004: William Farrow, Chicago Board Of Trade (CBOT)
    • 2003: John Fisher, SmithBucklin Corp.
    • 2002: John Moon, Baxter Healthcare
    • 2001: Jean Holley, USG Corp.
    • 2000: Lloyd Love, Amcol International
    • 1999: Cathie Kozik, Tellabs
    • 1998: Larry Buettner, First National Bank of Chicago
    • 1997: Terry McKillop, Rittenhouse Paper
    • 1996: Mark Barry, TTX